Workplace Safety Complaints

Formal Complaint

These complaints will trigger a Complaint Inspection. In order to file a formal complaint, you must be a current employee, a representative of employees, (such as union, attorney, elected representative, or a family member with the employee's concurrence) or a present employee of another company if you are exposed to the hazards of the complained-about work place. Remember, the Occupational Health and Safety Act permits a $10,000 fine and up to six months imprisonment for making false statements.

The Wyoming Occupational Health and Safety Act protects workers who complain to their employer, OSHA or other government agencies about unsafe or unhealthful working conditions in the workplace. You cannot be transferred, denied a raise, have your hours reduced, be fired, or punished in any other way because you used any right given to you under the Wyoming Occupational Health and Safety Act.

If you have been punished or discriminated against for using your rights, you must file a complaint with OSHA within 30 days of the alleged reprisal for most complaints. No particular form is required to report the discrimination, but you may send a letter, call the Wyoming OSHA Division at (307) 777-7786, or complete the Complaint Form link and return it to our office.

You can also download our Complaint Form and send it to us via mail or fax. You can also visit the Federal OSHA website.

Non-Formal Complaint

The non-formal option will allow you to send us information voicing your safety and health concerns. After evaluation, we will decide the appropriate action to take. Anyone with employee safety and health concerns can use this option. Remember, the Occupational Health and Safety Act permits a $10,000 fine and up to six months imprisonment for making false statements.

The Wyoming Occupational Health and Safety Act protects workers who complain to their employer, OSHA or other government agencies about unsafe or unhealthful working conditions in the workplace. You cannot be transferred, denied a raise, have your hours reduced, be fired, or punished in any other way because you used any right given to you under the Wyoming Occupational Health and Safety Act.

If you have been punished or discriminated against for using your rights, you must file a complaint with OSHA within 30 days of the alleged reprisal for most complaints. No particular form is required to report the discrimination, but you may send a letter, call the Wyoming OSHA Division at (307) 777-7786, or download and complete our printable Complaint Form and return it to our office via mail or fax. You can also visit the Federal OSHA website.